Top ten list of popular gifts and their true meaning

Standard

A lot of people accept gifts without really knowing the true intention behind it. Please note that this is all in good fun, and the author does not take responsibility for any feuds, breakups or any other kinds of differences that may arise from the reader’s interpretation of  this article.

  1.       Perfumes

What they say: “I saw this and I just thought of you”

What they really say “You have a serious hygiene problem, so serious that I couldn’t afford to cheap out on so so body sprays, you need the real deal!”

 

  1.       Clothes

What they say: “I saw this and I just thought of you”

What they really say “You dress like a slob, your fashion sense is nonsense. My present is the least I could to ensure that you have at least one decent clothing item in your wardrobe.”

  1.       Chocolates and other confectioneries

What they say: “A little sweet stuff for my sweetie”

What they really say “I totally forgot that I was supposed to get you a present, hopefully this will get me of the hook. By the way I got those chocolates that you hate and I love, so I’ll end up eating them- but the gift still counts”

  1.       Arts stationery

What they say: “Arts supplies for the artist”

What they really say “There was a clearance sale at the departmental store, they were giving away the cheap art supplies really cheap, it was cheaper than chocolates, but it still counts as it’s your passion and I can’t eat it.”

  1.       Wrist watches

What they say: “A classy gift for a classy person”

What they really say “I picked up on all the hints you’ve been dropping about some new gizmo that just came out, I don’t have that kind of money so here you go. I got this from that cheap shop for redeeming my card reward points.”

  1.       Pens

What they say: “Write your own destiny”

What they really say “I saw it in a tv ad, was cheaper than getting a chocolate, still counts.”

  1.       Homemade Birthday cards

What they say: “I personalised a card just for you!”

What they really say “I’m too cheap to even buy a birthday card let alone a chocolate”

  1.       DVD

What they say: “I got this really awesome movie that you’d love”

What they really say “I got this really awesome movie that I’d love”

  1.       Sunglasses

What they say: “Stylish gift for the stylish person”

What they really say “You look much worse in day time than at night. I got you these shades so you can hide at least part of your hideous face”

  1.   Free homemade coupons

What they say: “A gift from the heart”

What they really say “I’m too cheap to buy you anything, too lazy to draw you a card. Here’s a bunch a coupons which won’t cost me anything to honour and its basically chores I do any ways”

 

 

Leave a Reply

